Sharing pages and Collections

Help Contents

Portfolio Tutorial

Portfolio Tutorial

Why use e-Portfolio?

Why use e-Portfolio?

Key Concepts

Key Concepts

Logging in / Creating an account

Logging in / Creating an account

Quick Tour of the e-Portfolio interface

Quick Tour of the e-Portfolio interface

Updating your profile

Updating your profile

Edit your profile page

Edit your profile page

Uploading Files

Uploading Files

Journals

Journals

Creating a new page

Creating a new page

Editing a page

Editing a page

Editing page layout

Editing page layout

Types of Blocks

Types of Blocks

Adding a Youtube/Vimeo video or presentation

Adding a Youtube/Vimeo video or presentation

Collections

Collections

Connecting to other users

Connecting to other users

Groups

Groups

Sharing pages and Collections

Gallery of example portfolios

Gallery of example portfolios

References & Resources

References & Resources

By default, all materials in your e-portfolio are private and cannot be seen by others.

In order for others to see your portfolio pages and/or collections, you will have to explicitly share it with them.  You can share your portfolio with individuals, groups, all logged in users, or the public at large.  You can also create Secret URLs, which allow you to keep your portfolio private on the system while still giving access to individuals who receive the secret URL from you.

Details

Sharing with other users

To share pages or collections with specific users, groups, logged in users, or the public:

  1. Log into the portfolio tool.
  2. Click on Portfolio then Shared by me.
  3. Find your page or collection and click the Edit Access button next to it.
  4. To share with a group you are a member of, click the Add button next to the group.
  5. To share with all logged in users, click the Add button next to "Logged in Users."
  6. To share with specific users:
    1. Click the Share with other users and groups.
    2. Search connections for the user
    3. Click the Add button next to the user's name
  7. To share with the general public, click the Add button next to “Public.”
  8. Click Save. If you have shared your page or collection with an individual user already in the system, they will receive a notification. If you have shared your page or collection with a group, it will appear in the group. 

There are some advanced options available, which let you set a specific time range for access.

Details

Secret URLs

A secret URL is a link to your portfolio page or collection that you can hand out via email, without giving access to your page or collection.  Anyone who has the URL can access your portfolio without having to have an account on the system.  This is useful if you want to give your portfolio to a mentor or someone else outside of Athabasca University who cannot otherwise get access to the system. 

You can create as many secret URLs as you like, and revoke them at any time.

To share the collection via a secret URL:

  1. Log into the portfolio tool.
  2. Click on Portfolio then Share.
  3. Find your collection in the list of Collections and click the Secret URL button.
  4. Click the Add button next to New Secret URL.  You can create as many secret URLs as you'd like.
  5. Copy the Secret URL into an email, or any other method of communication.

To remove a secret URL, click the Remove icon next to it.

Details

Comments


    Add comment

    Comments are moderated. If you choose to make this comment public, it will not be visible to others until it is approved by the owner.
    Help for "License"
    The license for this content.

    Help for "Licensor"
    The original licensor for this content.
    Help for "Original URL"
    The original URL for this content.